The ceremony for the 2013 Ballon d ' Or(Golden Ball) will take place on Monday night in Zurich. The final 3 nominees for football ' s most prestigious individual award are Lionel Messi(Argentina), Cristiano Ronaldo(Portugal), and Franck Ribery(France). Cristiano Ronaldo has won the FIFA Ballon d’Or(Golden Ball) award for 2013, ending Lionel Messi’s four - year run as the world’s best football player. Ronaldo scored 69 goals for Real Madrid and Portugal last year, and his stunning hat trick against Sweden in a decisiveWorld Cup playoff was perhaps the defining individual performance. Ronaldo was sobbing in tears as he accepted the award with his son beside him, saying “there are no words to describe this moment”. He defeated Barcelona’s Messi and France winger Franck Ribery, who helped Bayern Munich to a sweep of major titles. Voting was done by national team captains and coaches, plus selected journalists, in FIFA’s 209 member countries. Ronaldo was also named in the FIFA-FIFPro world all-star team announced today, as voted on by more than 65 000 players. They full team is: