Some 1,400 journalists and reporters from around the world are set to cover Iran’s upcoming presidential as well as urban and rural councils elections.
Mohammad Shafiq, an official at the Iranian Interior Ministry, told reporters on Wednesday that over one thousand reporters will be stationed in the capital Tehran, and the rest will be dispatched to other provinces. Tehran Province has the lion’s share of polling stations, with over 17,000 locations for the June 14 vote. Iranians are scheduled to cast their ballots in the 4th Islamic councils elections concurrent with the 11th presidential election on June 14. Islamic city and village councils are tasked with electing mayors and supervising municipalities in Iran. Tehran Mayor Mohammad Baqer Qalibaf, President of the Center for Strategic Research of the Expediency Council Hassan Rohani, lawmaker Gholam-Ali Haddad-Adel, Supreme National Security Council Secretary Saeed Jalili, former Foreign Minister Ali Akbar Velayati, Expediency Council Secretary Mohsen Rezaei, former First Vice President Mohammad Reza Aref, and former Telecommunications Minister Mohammad Gharazi are the eight candidates running for president. On June 14, Iranians will cast their ballots at over 66,000 polling stations across the country, and 285 polling stations that will be set up in other countries. The president of Iran is elected for a four-year term in a national election.