U.S. President Donald Trump has signed a new executive order, banning immigrants from six Muslim-Majority countries.

The new travel ban excludes Iraq from Trump’s original ban that was issued in January and reinstates a ban on all refugees.

Trump’s original ban caused chaos at airports across the US before it was blocked by federal courts.

The new ban, however, targets citizens of Syria, Iran, Libya, Somalia, Sudan and Yemen from entering the United States for at least 90 days.

The US government has defended the new ban against the six Muslim countries, as Homeland Security Secretary John Kelly claimed that it only targeted terror suspects.

“Three of the six (countries in the travel ban) now are designated as terrorism supporters,” Kelly claimed. “We can't rely on those governments ... It's not a Muslim ban ... there are 51 overwhelmingly Muslim countries,” Kelly said.

Attorney General Jeff Sessions also said that the new executive order seeks to protect the American people.

“We cannot compromise our nation's security by allowing visitors entry when their own governments are unable or unwilling to provide the information we need to vet them responsibly, or when those governments actively support terrorism,” Attorney General Jeff Sessions said Monday.