The US State Department announced on Thursday the designation of the ISIS (IS, or Daesh) in Libya, Saudi Arabia and Yemen as a foreign terrorist organization and imposed sanctions on them.

The State Department added that Washington also designated Daesh branches in Yemen and Saudi Arabia. 


"The Department of State has announced the designation of the Islamic State of Iraq and the Levant’s (ISIL’s) branch in Libya (ISIL-Libya) as a Foreign Terrorist Organization under section 219 of the Immigration and Nationality Act (INA)," the release said. 


The Daesh is outlawed in numerous countries, including in Russia and the United States. The Islamic State has captured large swaths of land in Iraq and Syria where it proclaimed a caliphate ruled by Sharia law.


The US-led coalition of more than 60 nations has been carrying out airstrikes against the Daesh terrorist group in Syria and Iraq since summer 2014.